Bringing up baby eco friendly

Bringing up baby Eco Friendly! (Part one!)

I am a mum to a 15 month old baby girl and trying to make our home as eco friendly as possible and not expose my children to harsh chemicals, I took a look at what products we use in our home around our baby.

20120703_161535

When my baby was new-born, my intention was not to use baby wipes at all, after water is the purest thing to use. However after 3 months of cleaning up the pooh of a breast-fed baby, I soon relented. However it was good to know I could get fragrance free, organic wipes that are free from chemicals such as parabens!

These Jackson Reese wipes are not only organic, without fragrance and alcohol free, they are also biodegradable, and recyclable. They  do not contain any potential irritants such as Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS), Sodium Laureth Sulfate (SLES), Alcohol, Lanolin, Phthalates, MIT, Parabens, Triclosan, Propylene glycol, Petro Chemicals,   Phenoxyethanol, Benzoates or Soap.

jacksonreecewipesunscenteddisp

To bath baby this Organic Baby Shampoo &  body wash is lovely! It contains no suspect ingredients. My baby girl loves her bath time, not so keen on having her hair washed but I find I can wash her hair quickly by adding this to the bath water and rinsing her head, she is to busy playing with the bubbles she doesn’t even notice.

beamingbabyshampoodisp

When she has cradle cap, I personally use olive oil or Coconut oil , completely natural products rather than baby oil. Coconut oil has always done the trick for us. If coconut oil doesn’t work for you, than you could try this cradle cap lotion that is made from Aloe Vera gel and Rose hip oil from the mountains in Chile.

coconutdisp

For me, I think the must have product with a baby is Coconut Oil, it is completely natural and is one product that has many uses.

  • Clear up nappy rash
  • Cradle Cap
  • body lotion, (dry skin etc)
  • You can even use it yourself, on your hair and skin.

No need for loads of different products for you and baby, so safe on space, packaging and money!

fractionatedcoconutoil

As for nappies I love bamboo cloth nappies as they are really absorbent and I can get all in ones that are easy to use plus you can get so many funky patterns, I love to get them from independent sellers, You can get custom ones if you find someone who makes them. (Check out Etsy!)

You can also get bamboo nappy liners and bamboo towels. Bamboo towels are super soft to dry baby in.

bambootowelsdisp_2 (1)nappy-liners-disopmicrofibrenappylinerdisp

And I just have to share these bamboo socks for baby as they are just so adorable! (Read my past blog entry on “bamboo instead of cotton”  about the benefits of bamboo)

bamboochildrenssocksdisp_1

Have a look at http://www.claireecostuff.wikaniko.com for a range of baby products, bamboo towels and coconut oil as well as a range of eco friendly products.

About claireecostuff

I am a independent distributor for WIKANIKO.
This entry was posted in BEAUTY, Eco Friendly, family, HEALTH, PRODUCTS, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment